Without Asking

Thrown here, without asking,

It all appears easy,

When you stare through it all

Thrown here without asking,

I sit with my eyes closed

I didn’t want it then,

And I still don’t, now

Closed eyes,

And then comes the smile,

The one that stretches,

From ear to ear

Just killing the time

Working my way,

And thinking about,

How I never wanted this,

In the first place

Well, then,

Without asking,

I rise up,

Walk away

I can feel the open eyes,

Burning holes in the back of my head

I couldn’t care less,

All this came about,

Without asking for it,

Without a want, a need,

Or even any interest,

From me

© Dicky J Loweman 2015

 

Leave a Reply

