She Looks Good From Here

She looks good from here
She has on a nice sundress
Her legs are a calling bronze,
And she has the most beautiful hair
I’m a sucker for the hair
It’s always what seems to do me in
This Thursday afternoon,
Is no different from any other,
Save for this beautiful lady,
And a break from the heat
I want to ask her name
I’d like to spend the rest of the afternoon and my money with her
But after a little consideration,
I surmise my chances lie in that hated grey area,
Of not what I was hoping for
I’m drinking rum
She’s downing wine
I can’t imagine,
We wouldn’t be a good fit,
For each other
But then my conscience grabs me by the balls,
And I know to fight is useless
So the next time she looks my way,
I offer only a slight smile
A smile she returns as well
And that made it all worth while
Mental note to self,
Smile at strangers once in a while
You just never know who’s day you might make
© Dicky J Loweman 2015
Leave a Reply

