Broken

Things have a tendency of breaking around here

Broken glasses, broken hearts,

A broken thought which sounds like a broken record

There are days like this

Always have been and always will be

Makes me think I’d like to douse this whole place,

In rancid gasoline,

Then just set it all ablaze

But you can’t get blood from a stone

I know this because I’ve tried

All you end up with is endless, bloodless,

Failure

Failure to see things differently

A failure to put a new spin on these broken pieces

So I just do what I always keep doing

I pour a nice drink,

I stare down at my old typewriter,

And think and wish for the times back,

When everything seemed easier,

Peaceful and good

© Dicky J Loweman 2015

2 comments

Leave a Reply

